//
you're reading...
libraries, quebec

Shared catalogue for Québec libraries

Somehow I missed it, but last month the Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales de Québec announced that there is now a new shared catalogue linking all the libraries in the province.

The Catalogue des bibliothèques de Québec so far seems to be a fairly straightforward tool. Once on the site it was easy for me to sign in using my library card and password from BANQ – no need to get another login!

One of the features I like is the search for a library by region. Being new to the province I find this handy and it could be useful for travellers too. The list not only provides links to the libraries’ sites and catalogues but also straight out says whether online interlibrary loan (or Pret entre bibliothèque – PEB) is available. It’s almost all ‘non’ but that could change.

I did a search so that I could search for the title “Les Citadines” by Anne Guilbault. I read this book back in 2001 while spending a few weeks in Riviere-du-Loup for a French Immersion program. Anne was my teacher in that program and everyone had to read a book so I read hers (as well as “Le Libraire” by Gerard Bessette, overachiever that I am) and gave an oral book report instead of written (because writing in French is too easy for me compared to speaking).

Okay, so back on topic, my search found 79 hits for titles that contained that word but instead of being one bibliographic record with holdings information, there’s a record from each library that has a copy. That isn’t a good thing. However, if you click on search history it’ll show not only your search but the collections where the items were found. A bit of a round-about way of getting the information I wanted.

So it has it’s flaws as most catalogues do, but to me it feels a lot better than most the websites and catalogues that the libraries here have. (Really, go take a look at some, they’re a mess.)

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

  • Of course today is the day I don't have library book wrapped in plastic bag. Hopefully it's protected enough in purse as I stand in downpour 3 hours ago
  • RT @CityKitchener: Severe Tstorm watch in effect via EnvCda potential of strong wind gusts, hail and torrential rain. http://t.co/iGc6wp7le… 3 hours ago
  • I try not to not look every time I enter library's meeting room this week. Books ready for sale next week but barely read last year's finds 11 hours ago

Delicious Bookmarks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

