//
you're reading...
food, quebec

Brimming with Chocolate

The last weekend in April I took a trip up to Montreal. It was my first weekend back since I moved in December 2010 and so there were lots of people to see and places to visit.

One of my must-see places is Briimstone Chocolates in NDG (5879 Sherbrooke W). When I lived in Montreal, I would often walk by this chocolate shop which just celebrated its second year anniversary back in March (I think). Patty is the owner and creator of yummy things and a really fun person to chat with. She’s a dog lover too, so she’ll probably have a treat  for your little furfriend waiting outside.

I admit it, I am totally biased about this shop. I mean, I DO think Briimstone has some fabulous chocolates and also offers brands I haven’t seen in other stores, but the customer service and atmosphere is what keeps me going back. Patty really cares about her community and her friends. Last year when Zeus was hit by a car, she took up a small collection at the shop and sent me a cheque to help towards Zeus’ vet fees. How can you not love a store owner who takes the extra step to not just learn about you but to care?

So when in Montreal, I stopped by Briimstone to fulfill my chocolate craving and to say hello to Patty. I actually walked past it since things are changing in that neck of the woods! Not only outside, but inside too, since Briimstone not only has a greater selection of imported chocolate, but the owner is also now making other treats such as meringues and macarons.

I stocked up on some of my favourites (like the Vosges Mo’s Dark Bar with bacon) as well as some other goodies. Patty gave me one of the lavender Macarons to try and it was so perfect. I love lavender. I could go on and on about the raspberry chocolate or the mintastique or the Theo bread and chocolate bar or any of the other many treats there, but instead, I’ll suggest you just make your way over to Briimstone’s!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Brimming with Chocolate

  1. YUim! Those look good! Thanks for sharing them with us : )

    Posted by Ang | 16 May 2012, 12:46 AM
  2. Thanks for posting this! I live in Toronto, and would never otherwise heard of this wonderful shop and it’s admirable owner. Next trip to Montreal – I know where I’m going

    Posted by Liz McLean | 30 May 2012, 6:20 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

