//
you're reading...
canadian, clothing

Leaf Print tunic by Olio Organics

I think by now it’s easy to see that my fashion posts are overtaking my book posts. I can’t wait until my hold for Overdressed comes in at the library; then I can do a post on books and fashion in one! Recently one of my more selective purchases was from Olio Organics, a brand run out of a Toronto studio in the Distillery District. Jannis Ruck is the designer behind it all; she’s been working in fashion since the mid-eighties and in the past several years has had a focus on sustainable and slow fashion.Image

I got two items from Olio Organics; one being this leaf-patterned tunic pictured above (worn with my denim culottes from Annie50, sandals – Old Navy, hat – Mark’s). I really enjoy asymmetry when done right and I think the Olio Organics tunic is one of those cases. This design does come in shorter and longer lengths so it can be worn as a dress. I love the pocket. It’s hard to see in this photo, but there are three buttons on this tunic, one on each side holding up the corners and another at the pocket. Each of these buttons is made out of leather scraps that Jannis collects from another local artisan. That’s just one small bit that helps reduce waste and adds a special touch to Olio Organics garments.

Jen in Olio

The other garment I got from Olio Organics is a long sleeved jacket in a mostly black print. I haven’t had a chance to wear it since it’s been so hot out lately, but I’m looking forward to the fall! If you’d like to get a better idea about Olio Organics, check out the Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/OlioOrganics or Jannis’ blog. (Her website is currently under construction).

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

  • Of course today is the day I don't have library book wrapped in plastic bag. Hopefully it's protected enough in purse as I stand in downpour 1 hour ago
  • RT @CityKitchener: Severe Tstorm watch in effect via EnvCda potential of strong wind gusts, hail and torrential rain. http://t.co/iGc6wp7le… 1 hour ago
  • I try not to not look every time I enter library's meeting room this week. Books ready for sale next week but barely read last year's finds 9 hours ago

Delicious Bookmarks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

