//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

On the Hunt

Friday was the last day of classes. I have finished my MLIS. I am now a librarian. Have I said this already?

So, as an unemployed librarian it is my duty to go on the hunt for a job. I believe I’m up to about 20 resumes that have been sent out. A couple rejected for sure. Hopefully a couple that look promising. I’m starting to get nervous about finding a job. Everyone is telling me not to worry, but how can I not? I’m considering opening my search up to public libraries, but I still feel that that would not be me. It’s hard to say whether or not I’d enjoy working in a public library since I never have, but I do know I like to work in academic libraries since I did enjoy my co-op and other ac lib work experience.

Today I sent out 3 applications: Carleton College, American University, and CSU Stanislaus. I got acknowledgements from 2 other places that my application was received, but nothing else. Hoping to get a couple interviews lined up for the ALA Midwinter meeting. It seems quite a few of my friends will be there – at least four that I know of, maybe 5.

Well, that’s the update for today. Tomorrow is holiday shopping and I already know what I’m buying everyone! I have already bought Magazine subscriptions for my godkids (National Geographic Kids and ChickaDEE). I’m buying them pajamas too. An Asimov book for my brother and a bathroom reader for my dad are on the list for tomorrow. Maybe I should get my Mom a book too? It is Friends and Family day at Chapters tomorrow; 20% off regular priced books with coupon.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “On the Hunt

  1. Congratulations on finishing!! Welcome to the MLIS ranks. 🙂

    Tiny Little Librarian

    Posted by Anonymous | 15 Dec 2004, 2:34 AM
  2. Thanks! I’m sur I will enjoy it! Now I just need to get me some patrons like yours to keep me busy!

    Posted by Jen | 15 Dec 2004, 4:39 AM
  3. congrats, again! will you keep on bloggin, ya think?

    Posted by Xine | 15 Dec 2004, 8:46 AM
  4. Congrats from me, too! And good luck with the job search…

    Posted by Alison | 17 Dec 2004, 11:58 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

