//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

An offer?

I received an email earlier today. The woman who interviewed me last week would like to meet me at OLA to offer the job and discuss details. I’m excited at the prospect of work. But I am still wondering if it is a good idea to take the first job offered? Although I’m confident in my abilities, I do not think I will be getting any job offers from elsewhere any time soon.

I guess what is really bothering me is, is it possible to switch domains later? This is a cataloguiing job. I am intrigued by catalogiung and I enjoy doing it, but I also really love reference work and I am really interested in the current trends for information literacy. So, will I be able in the future to transfer into those areas if I (still) do not have much experience in them? Should I forget about ever becoming a reference librarian? I mean, maybe I will be head over heels for this cataloguing position and won’t think tice about it? If I’m questioning it now does that automatically mean it’s not right for me?

Hmmm. So much to think about. This would be my first “real” job since I don’t count my stint as a Language monitor or my co-op as “real”. Well the thought of discounts on books is very appealing and so is the flex time! We’ll see after Friday when I meet with her.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

