//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Network! Network! Network!

We all love to network. Or we should since it seems to be pretty vital in so many areas of our life, not just professionally but personally as well. Tuesday evening I met a former classmate (both from my days as an undergrad and from my MLIS) for a drink. She’s been unemployed since August when she graduated. I know she’s had at least one interview, but not sure about any others. She does not have the luxury of moving to find a job and therefore is restricted to a pretty small area (although I did remind her of a near-by city she hadn’t considered). She’s keeping busy though. She’s very handy and makes jewelry and hair accessories.
Anyway, we were talking and I was explaining how I got recruited (or as others say “suckered”) into joining the Superconference planning committee and mentioned the name of a certain local librarian. My friend proclaimed that her parents live across the street from said librarian and that she knew her personally. Well it turns out she hasn’t talked to the librarian or reintroduced herself to her. So I had to remind her that a job seeker is eternally networking and one must take advantage of every personal connection when possible. She did detail her experience with emailing the university librarian here (it wasn’t really successful).
So, I am by nature a quiet person. I do not mix at mixers or mingle at parties, even when they are specifically created for those purposes. That’s why I’m a “joiner”. I get to meet lots of people and do something useful.
Speaking of which, it is my duty to bring ideas on possible sessions to be held at the next OLA superconference, specifically in the area of information technology. I encourage suggestions and ideas from all of you, even those who would never come to Ontario for the conference. Sometimes people like you have attended other conferences and thought “Hey, that’s neat!” but we haven’t gone so we don’t know about it. To give you a few examples, here are a few from this year’s conference: “How to Use RSS to Know More and Do Less” (Jenny Levine); “Current Trends in accessible Web Site Design” (Philip Kiff); “real Losses, real gains: Long-Term Survival of Digital Information” (Gordon Neavill); “Designing for Scent: Why Stinky Sites Work” (Darlene Fichter); “Electronic Reserves and the copyright Challenge in Canada” (Joan Dalton).
You can find the entire list at the OLA Superconference 2005 website. (sorry, they’re not organized by topic).
Anyway, if you think of a topic you’d like to see at OLA, or if there’s a speaker you’d love to hear, just leave a comment or email me at CanuckLibrarian@gmail.com. I’m sure I shall repeat this call for suggestions in the future as well.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

