//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Review: Ladies in Lavender (2004)

Ladies in Lavender. (2004)

Finally got to see this film tonight and yes I did feel awkward being among the youngest in the theatre! Talk about directed audience – barely a man, barely a woman under 50.

Anyway, the film was delicious. I just sat there and admired the shots and the dialogue. It was great. I particularly enjoyed Miriam Margolyes’ performance. I don’t remember seeing her in anything but Harry Potter, so it was nice to see her act in a character other than Professor Sprout!

The movie also made me think about people and emotions. Today I saw an article about sex and older women but I didn’t bother reading it because it said what I already expected. But what you don’t hear or see much is love and the older woman – well you see it in the movies with the married couples…but it’s not the same. This older lady, Ursula, (Judi Dench) fell in love with a young man, young enough to be her son if she had one! At first I thought that’s just silly, but I started to understand more as she interacted with her sister, Janet (Maggie Smith).

So good acting, good music, hot guy. Overall great movie!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

