//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

OLA Africa project

I knew I wasn’t crazy! Last week, or was it two weeks ago, I was trying to find information on this. Today in the mailing from OLA was thisHandy brochure (link to pdf)!

I’m happy that this project is under way. It’s a way librarians here in Canada can make a difference for children and adults in Africa. It really sucks that they have to pay for schooling over there, among other things.

The brochure also provides links to speeches from Stephen Lewis and Craig Kielburger at Superconference 2005. I was there for both speeches – they were terrific! Especially how Craig can relate his work and success back to his local library! Very inspirational and touching stories from them both, made me even feel more guilty for not donating anything when the tsunami disaster took place. Well, I guess now I can make up for that a bit, now that I have a job, in donating to another area in need.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

