//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

In the loop

I’ve been thinking the last few days. Yeah, I try not to think too often 😉 Anyway, I’ve been feeling out of the loop. I’m not as interested in a lot of blogs as I used to be because the information just does not seem relevant, and it’s not just blogs but other areas as well.

I’ve been out of grad school for 8 months, been in my job for 6 months, but I already feel somewhat distanced from the profession. Sure, I volunteer for OLITA/OLA but that’s evidently not enough. I’m not working in a library environment. I don’t have patrons or students to deal with. There isn’t a lot of discussion going on at work. Before leaving school, and even before finding a job, I was all for scholarly communication, and reading up on the issues and trends in librarianship and information science. Now, I’m just kind of “hmm”.

I enjoy my work and think it’s a pretty darn good place to work (gotta love that flextime!), but there’s no discussion about issues. I really don’t know how many are involved in the library community. I know as a department we get magazines from associations that make the rounds (but I usually skip them since I have my own copies), but that’s it. I do enjoy reading Autocat everyday though since so much of it seems to be practical advice.

I’m such a horrible writer so I’m sure I’m failing at expressing my meaning. This is in no way reflective of my job. I like cataloguing. Sure, I think, one day, I’d like to get into a more public service type position, but for now I’m content where I am. The problem is that I just feel out of the loop. What’s going on in libraries? Maybe it’s because I don’t see “the fruits of my labour”? (actually maybe I don’t want to see – everytime I look at a record I’ve created I find a mistake! [ok not everytime, but enough]).

So, for those of you who do not work in a library, how do you cope? It’s so hard explaining to folks “I’m a librarian, but I don’t work in a library.”

Hmmm. So does any of this make sense? I’m rambling too much. Maybe this is just some sort of post-MLIS syndrome – too much thinking and theorizing followed by nothing but hands-on work.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Uncategorized

In the loop

I’ve been thinking the last few days. Yeah, I try not to think too often 😉 Anyway, I’ve been feeling out of the loop. I’m not as interested in a lot of blogs as I used to be because the information just does not seem relevant, and it’s not just blogs but other areas as well.

I’ve been out of grad school for 8 months, been in my job for 6 months, but I already feel somewhat distanced from the profession. Sure, I volunteer for OLITA/OLA but that’s evidently not enough. I’m not working in a library environment. I don’t have patrons or students to deal with. There isn’t a lot of discussion going on at work. Before leaving school, and even before finding a job, I was all for scholarly communication, and reading up on the issues and trends in librarianship and information science. Now, I’m just kind of “hmm”.

I enjoy my work and think it’s a pretty darn good place to work (gotta love that flextime!), but there’s no discussion about issues. I really don’t know how many are involved in the library community. I know as a department we get magazines from associations that make the rounds (but I usually skip them since I have my own copies), but that’s it. I do enjoy reading Autocat everyday though since so much of it seems to be practical advice.

I’m such a horrible writer so I’m sure I’m failing at expressing my meaning. This is in no way reflective of my job. I like cataloguing. Sure, I think, one day, I’d like to get into a more public service type position, but for now I’m content where I am. The problem is that I just feel out of the loop. What’s going on in libraries? Maybe it’s because I don’t see “the fruits of my labour”? (actually maybe I don’t want to see – everytime I look at a record I’ve created I find a mistake! [ok not everytime, but enough]).

So, for those of you who do not work in a library, how do you cope? It’s so hard explaining to folks “I’m a librarian, but I don’t work in a library.”

Hmmm. So does any of this make sense? I’m rambling too much. Maybe this is just some sort of post-MLIS syndrome – too much thinking and theorizing followed by nothing but hands-on work.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

