//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

CBC News: Indigo books in growth mode

CBC News: Indigo books in growth mode: “The CEO of Indigo Books and Music Inc. said Wednesday that the Canadian chain is in growth mode.”

Hmm, so it seems the bix box stores are just getting bigger. That’s a shame. Although when the one in Windsor opens I’ll have to drive down there to take a look, or at least get reports from my friends on how it compares. Although, my friends love Chaptes so I’m sure I won’t get an unbiased opinion from them.

Personally, I love used bookstores. Yesterday after work I picked up a hardcover copy of the Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer for $15; that’s less than half the cover price. The Hominids is the book chosen for our One Book, One Community program. The author will be coming around the end of the month to speak, so it’ll be good to see him. I was able to read 130 pages last night, so only 300 more before book club next week, which I still have to sign up for. So far I like it, except for the rape thing – I have my suspicions where he’s gonna go with that and I don’t like it, but we’ll see.

I’ve never been a part of a book club, but I suppose being a librarian I should become familiar with them. 🙂 Besides, the reader’s advisory librarian at my library speaks really great about her book club and the author visits that she is going to have. I guess that’s her job though, but it’s obvious she loves it.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

