//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

No longer the newbie!

Today a new cataloguer started work She’s the new Chinese cataloguer. I remember seeing her interviewing back in May. I was happy to see her interview because we took Classification and Indexing together with Grant (he’s an awesome prof). So even though we weren’t really friends during MLIS, it was nice to see her interview. I was really happy when she was offered the job, and now she’s finally started work! I guess she just had to finish her degree this summer as she went on co-op in the winter. It must’ve been nice knowing she had a job coming right out of school!

So she’s here. She just moved 2 days ago and like me doesn’t really know the area. I’ve already gotten her phone number and invited her out to dinner this weekend along with a few of the other cataloguers. I want her to be more than welcome and give her the chance to get to know her co-workers, unlike my experience which took a fair bit longer (not that I don’t love my new friends! it was just a very lonely first couple months).

So, I’m no longer the newbie!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Delicious Bookmarks

