//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Ottawa Citizen: ‘Creepy’ law clears way to track you via laptop, cellphone

Ottawa Citizen: ‘Creepy’ law clears way to track you via laptop, cellphone: “Police and security agencies would be able to surreptitiously track unwitting Canadians via their cellphones, BlackBerries and laptop computers, even when the devices are turned off or their location features are disabled, under a ‘creepy’ measure contemplated as part of the federal government’s planned electronic surveillance bill.”

Ok, so who’s up to protesting at Parliament hill? I am, c’mon, we’ll have fun, make signs, sing catchy slogans, throw eggs at evil lawmakers. Ok, maybe not that last part.

Seriously, what are they thinking? Quote from our Charter of rights and freedoms:

“7. Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of the person and the right not to be deprived thereof except in accordance with the principles of fundamental justice.

8. Everyone has the right to be secure against unreasonable search or seizure.”

I think the proposed law could certainly conflict with my liberty, and it could definitely lead to unreasonable searches. Sure the argument is that you could track stalkers and deadbeat dads (as one commentor to the article wrote), but it just opens up too many areas. I do not want the police to go “I suspect that canuck librarian is going to throw eggs at the PM, which is a most heinous offence, so let’s track her” because, well, I would never throw eggs at anyone!

I’m sure I’m just making a big fuss about something I don’t understand, but I thought you all should know. Whether or not this could be good or bad, we should listen to the man in the article who said: “We must ask: ‘Just because the technology exists, is it the case that law enforcement should have access to the technology, or information available through that technology and, if so, in what circumstances and with what control?'”

I think the “control” part should be emphasized.

via Science Library Pad

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

