//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

In Praise of OpenOffice

Library Cog: In Praise of OpenOffice

Art links to another essay on why OpenOffice rocks. Ok, those aren’t the exact words (oh wait – they are!). I was thinking a couple days ago about posting on OpenOffice, but I think I may have last fall, so I held off.

I don’t understand everything in that essay, all I know, is that I love OpenOffice (OO). I was first introduced to it in a tech course at library school. I liked it, but didn’t stick with it for some reason. Anyway, I got my laptop on Wednesday and it came with Windows installed, but of course only a 60 day trial offer for MS Office. Well the trial offer wouldn’t work because it needed to be registered but refused to recognize that I was connected to the internet. I’m not about to actually pay for MS Office, so I started thinking and remembered OO. So I went online, downloaded version 2.0 beta and installed it, et voilà! I started working with my files immediately.

Wouldn’t life be easier if everything was open source? (Hmmm, I suspect the actual answer would be no – but it’s a nice idea)

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

