//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Telegraph | News | Unicef bombs the Smurfs in fund-raising campaign for ex-child soldiers

Telegraph | News | Unicef bombs the Smurfs in fund-raising campaign for ex-child soldiers

I think it’s pretty sad that people are more moved by cartoon characters than they are pictures of the real deal. I think it’s great the advertising people came up with this idea to get people thinking; but it really gets me thinking, not necessarily about the affects of war on children, but on how our society pretends it doesn’t really exist. We’re all just Smurfs going on with our happy little lives, ignorant of the dangers and realities going on elsewhere. Ok, so, maybe we’re not quite as ignorant as we used to be, but still, how often do we think about it? it’s so hard to connect with the world sometimes.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving. I’m not going home, so no yummy turkey dinner for me, but when I do sit down to eat whatever meal I have, I will make a point of remembering all for which I am thankful. I know it’s corny, but we really do need to remind ourselves how good some of us have it.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

