//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Everyone loves librarians

Tonight I went out to a club for Latin night. The woman who teaches the classes I go to was there with her dance partner and they gave a free lesson before the DJ kicked in.

Anyway, I was chatting with her and we were talking about how great it is not to be in school anymore (kids around here are going through midterms) and so the conversation led to where I work, etc.

That’s when she gave the typical “I loved my librarian in my hometown” speech. She went on to tell me how when she was little she’d always go up to the librarian to ask for something new to read and the librarian would always find her great books. (At this point she kind of jumped around with glee imitiating her younger self.)

It’s just odd being in a profession where people really do connect; positively or negatively. Teachers and librarians – those seem to be the people that folks cling to memories of. I remember my grade school library, but not the librarian (although it might’ve been the French teacher). I remember stuff that I found out there and the book sales we used to have. I remember my highschool librarians – one was a man, and I guess I always thought he was handsome even if he was more than twice my age.

I remember when I was even younger and the library was in the mall. Not too many people my age, or even a tad older, can remember that – but I do.

But then again, I guess I do remember a lot of my library experiences since I was/am destined to be a librarian.

Sorry for the walk down memory lane, I just find it so neat how we can share so many similar memories with strangers. I’m so sappy aren’t I?

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

