//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Happy Solstice!

Ancient Origins: Solstice: “Solstice means…standing-still-sun. Such precision we have about it now! Winter solstice is when because of the earth’s tilt, your hemisphere is leaning farthest away from the sun, and therefore, the daylight is the shortest.”

Also, acording to this site, “Winter solstice for 2005 will occur at 10:35 am PST on December 21” (or equivalent in your time zone).

For those who need a visual, there’s a diagram on Windows to the Universe – Winter Solstice and Eric Weisstein’s World of Astronomy offers a link to a Quicktime video of the seasons.

I’m so thankful the Solstice is finally here! I know it’s actually the official start of Winter, but who cares about cold? I just need the sunlight back! When I first started working, I would come in for 8 am, sometimes 8:30. By August I was starting to come in around 9 or 9:30. Now, it’s nearly 10 am whenever I trudge into work (though today I did make it before 9:30). I do think this has a lot to do with the light. As it is I live in a basement apartment, so there’s not much natural light to begin with, but with shorter days, it makes getting up in the morning so much more difficult!

So I look forward to the coming year and the Winter, as long as the daylight comes back too! (and Happy Summer Solstice to those on the other side of the world.)

There are LCSH for “Winter solstice” and “Summer solstice”. I guess cultural and religious celebrations of these events would be classed in the usual place (200s, 300s?), but the science of solstice would be classed under “Spherical astronomy” in 522.7 (or so I think).

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

