//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

How hard is it to look at both sides?

I’m really tired of seeing people rant an rave about this thing or another, when it’s apparent they haven’t even tried to look at things from a different perspective. There have been so may times when I’ve played “Devil’s advocate” with my friends, because it seems they don’t have the capacity to do so.

The following was an email forward. As to the veracity of it (i.e. that the opening bit was printed in the Toronto Star), I’m unsure. What I do know though is that there are many people who agree with what the mesage says. I do not.

(BTW, is it me, or does this look much like an American version?, just cut and paste in “Canadians” and change the motto from “In god we trust” to “We stand on guard for thee”)

Will we still be the Country of choice and still be Canada if we continue to make the changes forced on us by the people from other countries that came to live in Canada because it is the Country of Choice?????? Think about it! All we have to say is, when will they do something about MY RIGHTS? I celebrate Christmas……. ….but because it isn’t celebrated by everyone…………..we can no longer say Merry Christmas. Now it has to be Season’s Greetings. It’s not Christmas vacation, it’s Winter Break. Isn’t it amazing how this winter break ALWAYS occurs over the Christmas holiday? We’ve gone so far the other way, bent over backwards to not offend anyone, that I am now being offended. But it seems that no one has a problem with that.

Um. Who said you couldn’t say Merry Christmas? There may be some businesses that now have that policy, but I’m sure you aren’t going to be harassed or arrested if you tell someone Merry Christmas. I’ve been saying Happy Holidays and Season’s Greetings for years – even when I still considered myself Christian. Why was it never a problem before? Why is it suddenly wrong to give greetings other than Merry Christmas? Say what you will in greeting – noone’s stopping you.
Oh, and Isn’t it amazing how the “winter break” always happens during New Year’s too, Wow, that must be some sort of conspiracy there.

This says it all!
This is an editorial written in a Toronto newspaper. He did quite a job; didn’t he? Read on, please!
IMMIGRANTS, NOT Canadians MUST ADAPT.I am tired of this nation worrying about whether we are offending some individual or their culture. Since the terrorist attacks on Sept. 11, we have experienced a surge in patriotism by the majority of Canadians. However…… the dust from the attacks had barely settled when the “politically correct! ” crowd began complaining about the possibility that our patriotism was offending others.I am not against immigration, nor do I hold a grudge against anyone who is seeking a better life by coming to Canada Our population is almost entirely made up of descendants of immigrants. However, there are a few things that those who have recently come to our country, and apparently some born here, need to understand.
This idea of Canada being a multicultural community has served only to dilute our sovereignty and our national identity. As Canadians…….we have our own culture, our own society, our own language and our own lifestyle. This culture has been developed over centuries of struggles, trials, and victories by millions of men and women who have sought freedom.

See this is where you can start seeing that this was written for Americans. National Identity? That’s one of the biggest debates in Canada and it’s been going on for years. We’ve never had a clearly defined identity, and I don’t think we ever will because we don’t need to be defined by a few words or a few concepts. We are what we are, and we are great.
Oh and I’m not totally in the politically correct camp – I believe it’s important to respect all people and doing so often means cutting out the derogatory and slang words some used to use. I do agree PCness has gone a bit far on occasion; in fact I actually agree that “holiday tree” is a bunch of hogwash – I’ll give you that one.

We speak ENGLISH/FRENCH, not Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, or any other language. Therefore, if you wish to become part of our society, learn the language! “We Stand On Guard For Thee” is our national motto. This is not some Christian, right wing, political slogan.. We adopted this motto because Christian men and women…….on Christian principles………….founded this nation….. and this is clearly documented.
It is certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God offends you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home………because God is part of our culture. We are happy with our culture and have no desire to change, and we really don’t care how you did things where you came from.

A very ethnocentric view. This is also the part with the motto swapping because the whole school display part doesn’t make sense. Oh, and btw, God isn’t part of my culture and I’d like to say since you single out immigrants, I can trace my ancestors in Canada back to 1640.

This is OUR COUNTRY, our land, and our lifestyle. But once you are done complaining……. whining…… and griping……. about our flag…….our pledge…… our national motto……..or our way of life….I highly encourage you to take advantage of one other Great Canadian Freedom…….THE RIGHT TO LEAVE.

Since when did we have a pledge? And can’t say I’ve heard any whining about the flag. Is it too red? Oh and don’t forget, you have the right to leave too!

It is Time for Canada to Speak up If you agree — pass this along; if you don’t agree — delete it! AMEN I figure if we all keep passing this to our friends(and enemies) it will also, sooner or later get back to the complainers, lets all try, please

It’s nice to see that this person has labelled anyone who disagrees with his/her point of view an “enemy”, because, you know it’s impossible to get along otherwise. I guess what bothered me the most about this email forward is that it is from a good friend – my best friend from highschool and since she sent it, she must agree. Although I suspect she doesn’t agree with the language bit – after all she encourages her son, still a toddler, to learn French and Spanish.
But I’m used to that. Another very good friend has opposing views on everything. Sometimes it’s fun to debate but for the most part we just repect each other’s opinions and leave it at that. I’m not going to try to force her to change her opinions because I know where she’s coming from – I understand that her upbringing and her current way of life influence her decisions.

Respect. Think of it as the gift that keeps on giving.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

  • RT @erinbowbooks: Side note: it is of course Eid al Fitr, which is a SWELL time to schedule a public meeting about a Muslim centre. 9 hours ago
  • RT @rwlibrary: Register to spend your summer with us starting tomorrow! We’ve got crafts, games, entertainers, movies & more! https://t.co/… 17 hours ago
  • RT @AprilHathcock: 2 white librns on bus whining abt a lib that hasn't hired a white guy in yrs bc trying 2 incr diversity. "WM ARE a minor… 1 day ago

Delicious Bookmarks

