//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

How to digitize a million books

The Impact of Emerging Technologies: How to Digitize a Million Books: “In the CMU project, though, the scanning technology is off the shelf. They’re using readily available Minolta PS 7000 book scanners set up at 40 scanning stations in India and China, where the local governments are helping to keep the costs low for the nonprofit project. In this setup, workers manually turn each page. Seven years into the project, around 600,000 books (mostly public-domain works shipped from around the world) have been scanned, and every day another 100,000 pages join the digital corpus. At this rate, it could take just under five years to complete the CMS project.”

An intersting article on another digitization project. Can you imagine sitting and scanning all day, every day? When I did ILL I used to have to scan articles to send via Ariel – a couple hours of that is enough for me!

The article goes on to discuss how the project uses metadata and how CMU is taking a “statistical approach” to organizing the info. Hmm, statistics?

That reminds me…what do librarians say when they laugh? “Statistics, Statistics!” (get it, LCC for Stats is HA. Get it now? yeah, I already know I’m lame)

(article found via Digg and I think I found that joke on Laughing librarian – but it was probably much funnier then and I can’t actually find the original source)

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

