//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Board restricts access to book

Board restricts access to book: “The Greater Essex County District School Board has decided to allow a controversial children’s book about the conflicts in the Middle East to remain on school shelves, but is restricting access to students in Grade 7 and up.”

I don’t get it. Oh well. I’m visiting my cousin tomorrow and will give it to my goddaughter who is part of the GECDSB (oh no, she’s not, she goes to Catholic school). Anyway, I’m giving the book to her, she’s in grade 5. I guess it’s a compromise that school boards have to make. They can’t please everyone and it’s better that the book is available to some students, than to none at all.
It’s just so hilarious that all of this is happening during Freedom to Read week! I hope you didn’t forget about it. Once again I am so thankful my parents didn’t watch what I read, not that I really read anything too controversial but really there’s a lot I learned from books; saved me from learning the hard way.
This year, I like how Freedom to Read and Bookcrossing have teamed up. Free a challenged book! I’d love to participate by crazy librarian instinct won’t let me “free” any of my books – I can’t bear to part with them!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

