//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Will Centre Block doubts shelve library?

THERECORD.COM | INSIDER | Will Centre Block doubts shelve library?:

The boss of the Kitchener Public Library is facing one of the biggest challenges of her career — demonstrating there is public support for a new central library downtown before a March 20 vote at city council that could delay or kill the project.

“Because the library is the only known project destined for that site I think a lot of the feelings about the site itself, and what’s happening, the demolition of the Forsyth, the Centre Block process, are being directed at the library,” she said

I totally agree with Sonia Lewis. I may be new to Kitchener but it is my home now and so I do care what goes on. I want a new library. The old one does fulfill my needs, but I know a new library that’s just a bit more central would be even better for the community. That being said, from what I know and have heard I can’t say I have much faith in the building process. There just seems to be so much controversy about this and it doesn’t seem that anyone is really happy with how things are going. With this much controversy I think more public hearings (or something to acquire more public opinion) are necessary. Maybe the city should just hold off until we have municipal elections in the fall (because then mayeb we’ll have some councillors who can really be leaders and work through this).

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

