//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Health resources on the Internet

Medical resources, I believe, are one of the main reasons many adults do research on the internet. I remember the Canadian Health Network from one of the ref courses I took during my MLIS and it’s where I go first to look up health related sites.

This morning my sorority sister emailed me to say her newborn son died earlier today. She had called me Tuesday to let me know she had him (he wasn’t due for another 2 weeks) and that she was in London at the children’s hospital; she was hoping I still lived there and could visit (although she knows I’m in Kitchener now, but when someone is upset, they don’t really think straight, do they?). There’s no way I can afford to go to Windsor for the funeral or visitation, but how else do I help a grieving friend? And so, to the Internet I turn.

Here’s a couple useful sites found via CHN:

The Grief of Parents When A Child Dies which has pointers on “How To Help Someone Else”

Let time do the healing on Griefworks BC.

Also, one of Google’s first hits for a search on “baby grief” is:
Empty Cradles which I think is actually pretty cool, well, as cool as death can be; actually it’s quite depressing when you start to look at the “galaxies”. Some people try to forget what’s happened, but of course that’s the worst possible solution.

[BTW, I have posted other entries this week, but “Blog this” doesn’t seem to be working and they’ve disappeared into oblivion; when I have time I’ll try to repost]

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Delicious Bookmarks

