//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Review: Continuity Girl by Leah McLaren

I received Continuity Girl as part of HarperCollins First Look program.
I loved the premise of the book but I found myself being much too critical of it; the characters seemed to be extremes (crazy directors, eccentric mother, party girl friend, etc.) but once I decided to take this book for what it was meant – lighthearted chick lit – I was able to get past those criticisms.

Meredith is a 35 year old woman who has decided she wants a child, but not necessarily a man to go with it and so views herself as a sperm bandit on the look out for a man with worthy genes that she can use to get knocked up. Some of you may think that’s a crazy, perhaps unbelievable, plot line, but not me. Even though most of the story is predictable, McLaren does manage to throw in a couple twists to jazz it up. This is certainly the type of book I’d recommend to my girlfriends since we’re all creeping up in age and single and could very well end up as “sperm bandits” ourselves! Well maybe not.

Last week, Leah McLaren, along with Lynn Coady (Mean Boy) spoke in town, so I spent the 8 bucks to go see them. They were both good speakers, but Leah was not up to snuff reading (maybe she needs more practice?). There were some great questions afterwards including one asking about their opinions and experience on Canadian fiction as really bleak depressing stuff because both of these women have written satirical, humorous works which is not representative of the stereotype. Mean Boy actually sounds really good and I might splurge on it too. I got Leah to sign my book but because I’m socially inept I didn’t actually talk to her, well other than the few questions she asked (are you from here? Are you a student?).

I’m going to have to start reading her Globe and Mail column (although the first one I found was on how she’s not too keen into blogs anymore, hmmm).

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

