//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Satire in academia

As I mentioned in a previous post, I saw Lynn Coady speak the other week. CBC has an article/review of her book as well as others in the same genre of academic satire. I’ve always liked these types of books and of the ones the journalist mentions, I have also read Blue Angel by Francine Prose.

Despite liking this sort of literature, I’m not one to really search it out. I’m a lazy selector and usually just read books my friends recommend to me or have really great covers (yes I judge a book by its cover). I believe I stumbled upon Blue Angel in my first semester of my MLIS when we had to visit a library and ask for “a good book” in order to see how librarians/library staff do reader’s advisory. I’m not sure how this book came up but it did and even though I didn’t borrow it that day, I did later on go back and get it. I never did catch the name of the librarian who I “tested” with that question, but I did end up reading several of the books he recommended (well, one was a trilogy; so does that count as one or 3?).

I think I should try that again; just wander into a branch and ask a library worker to recommend a good book. Not to test him/her, but just to get someone else’s opinion and to see new perspectives. I think it’s fun; although I’m sure I wouldn’t think so if I was ont eh other sied – I’m horrible at reader’s advisory.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Uncategorized

Satire in academia

As I mentioned in a previous post, I saw Lynn Coady speak the other week. CBC has an article/review of her book as well as others in the same genre of academic satire. I’ve always liked these types of books and of the ones the journalist mentions, I have also read Blue Angel by Francine Prose.

Despite liking this sort of literature, I’m not one to really search it out. I’m a lazy selector and usually just read books my friends recommend to me or have really great covers (yes I judge a book by its cover). I believe I stumbled upon Blue Angel in my first semester of my MLIS when we had to visit a library and ask for “a good book” in order to see how librarians/library staff do reader’s advisory. I’m not sure how this book came up but it did and even though I didn’t borrow it that day, I did later on go back and get it. I never did catch the name of the librarian who I “tested” with that question, but I did end up reading several of the books he recommended (well, one was a trilogy; so does that count as one or 3?).

I think I should try that again; just wander into a branch and ask a library worker to recommend a good book. Not to test him/her, but just to get someone else’s opinion and to see new perspectives. I think it’s fun; although I’m sure I wouldn’t think so if I was ont eh other sied – I’m horrible at reader’s advisory.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

  • RT @erinbowbooks: Side note: it is of course Eid al Fitr, which is a SWELL time to schedule a public meeting about a Muslim centre. 9 hours ago
  • RT @rwlibrary: Register to spend your summer with us starting tomorrow! We’ve got crafts, games, entertainers, movies & more! https://t.co/… 17 hours ago
  • RT @AprilHathcock: 2 white librns on bus whining abt a lib that hasn't hired a white guy in yrs bc trying 2 incr diversity. "WM ARE a minor… 1 day ago

Delicious Bookmarks

