//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Canadian Booksellers independents Day – April 21, 2006

CBA Independents’ Day (pdf): April 21, 2006

Independents’ Day is an opportunity for independent booksellers to boast about the contribution they make to their communities, to their local economy and to Canadian arts and culture.

I like their poster (pdf) too! I love independent bookstores. For me, bookstores are more than a place to buy books, especially since I buy most of my books through work. Many independent bookstores also serve as a type of community outlet whether it actually hosts author events or if it just acts as an outlet to advertise community and cultural events. Also, as stated on the poster, independents’ do carry more Canadian and local items. That’s the type of stuff I’m looking for when I go to a bookstore, and wandering the aisles in Chapters just doesn’t produce the same results (or the same feeling).

So make some time on April 21st (or anytime this month) to get out and celebrate your local, independent booksellers and see what they have to offer!

[found via Booklust]

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

