//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Three is not so bad

During March and April I barely read a thing. I think I may have read one book at the beginning of March and that was it. A few weeks ago I went to the public library and took out 3 “classics” to try and get me back in the reading mood. I only managed to read two before they were due and the other was returned unread, but I also read this month’s book club selection.

1984 by George Orwell
Unlike many, I did not have to read this in school. I enjoyed the read; it was pretty easy to follow along and I didn’t feel like it was dragging or that it was a chore to read. The subject matter is of course very relevant and it gave me a lot to think about, but I won’t rehash since I’m sure there are dozens and dozens of essays out there on the book.

The book I read for book club was Deep Hollow Creek by Sheila Watson. I didn’t think I was going to get a chance to read it since I was still waiting for my hold, but I got it the Thursday before the meeting (on a Saturday) and was happy to see that it was a really thin and short book. That feeling didn’t last long; despite its size, I barely finished it in time (and not because I’m a slow reader). As discussed at our book club, this is a very language driven book. Blech. I hated it. The narrator is a woman who goes to some small town in frontier British Columbia in the early part of the 1900s (I think maybe the 20s or 30s?) to become the town’s school teacher. Sounds interesting, doesn’t it? Well it’s not. Basically it’s a book of gossip written with poetic language. Watson supposedly is some grand figure of Canadian Literature and her Double Hook was pivotal to writers, but I don’t get it. Then again, I’ve never been much into literature; in university I preferred my linguistics classes to French literature and never took any English lit (just Canadian poetry once, and a couple general writing courses).

The last book I read I absolutely adored. From the library I picked Foundation by Isaac Asimov. This one I chose not only because Asimov is one of, if not the, greatest science fiction writers of all time, but also because I remember my older brother adored Asimov and this book used to sit in his bedroom for years (I remember it was the one with a purplish cover and a picture with Seldon in the wheelchair and what I presume is Trantor in the background). I’m not sure why I never bothered to read it; most sci-fi I read I took from him. Anyway, I read the back cover and I was surprised at myself for not reading it before since it sounded so cool! Again, I’m not going to rehash the plot or issues it raises because it is so well covered out there online. I’ll probably continue reading this series since I haven’t had much sci-fi in my life, and I miss it.

So that’s what I’ve been reading. I have so many unread books at home I decided not to get anymore when I was at the library yesterday. We’ll see what’s next!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Three is not so bad

  1. Was that the first time you had read 1984? I only discovered it in college myself and must have read it once a year for at least 10 years. It is definitely one of my favourites. Have you seen the movie?

    I read the Foundation Trilogy a long time ago when I was really into science fiction.

    Susan 🙂

    Posted by UninvitedWriter | 31 May 2006, 3:26 PM
  2. Yeah it was my first time 🙂 One of those that was on the “I should read because everyone else has” list. Nope Haven’t seen the movie – I’ll have to check the library.

    Posted by Jen | 1 Jun 2006, 4:01 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

  • RT @erinbowbooks: Side note: it is of course Eid al Fitr, which is a SWELL time to schedule a public meeting about a Muslim centre. 9 hours ago
  • RT @rwlibrary: Register to spend your summer with us starting tomorrow! We’ve got crafts, games, entertainers, movies & more! https://t.co/… 17 hours ago
  • RT @AprilHathcock: 2 white librns on bus whining abt a lib that hasn't hired a white guy in yrs bc trying 2 incr diversity. "WM ARE a minor… 1 day ago

Delicious Bookmarks

