//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

What’s the truth?

I really enjoy Snopes. It’s such an awesome resource. I know there are other similar sites out there, I just can’t remember their names right now.

For those who aren’t already enlightened, Snopes is a site that tracks down those email urban legends and gives the real deal on whether they’re true, false, or a little bit of both.

I still consistently get emails about missing children, assualted women and other such “legends” that really just “fan the flame” in our society of fear. So, I’ve made a point to reply (and “reply all”) whenever I receive one of these forwarded messages and provide a link to Snopes.

Today’s message was about “missing” Ashley Flores. What bothers me most is that from the “forwarded by” lines left in I could see all the people forwarding it, and yes they were all librarians. Am I wrong to expect better from them? Checking out the veracity of these silly emails takes as long as forwarding it, please take the 3 seconds to check it out, or don’t bother sending it at all.

Again, it’s not so much that it’s junk mail, but that we have enough true media reports to make us live in fear, we don’t need any additional excuses. Not that I live in fear, but I know many do; many of my friends absolutely hate that I walk alone at night, and even downtown! Oh yes, I throw caution to the wind; I’m such a rebel! Okay, I really don’t do it that often anymore since I now have friends that drive me home, but I still do it and I enjoy it and I’m not going to let the prospect of potential violence discourage me, especially when in the grand scheme, that potential is pretty small.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “What’s the truth?

  1. I do the same. I think one friend has stopped sending me forwards because I always reply all if it’s a hoax, or even worse, one of those virus warnings that do more harm than good. If they would even just google a chunk of the email they could figure it out.

    Posted by Devon | 1 Jun 2006, 5:52 PM
  2. I’ve had to send references to Snopes to at least 2 well-meaning people who sent the whole library system hoaxes. It’s crazy that people still fall for that stuff, really.

    Posted by Tiny Little Librarian | 10 Jun 2006, 8:21 AM
  3. LOL. What else is there to do at the ref desk ;p

    Posted by Stinky | 10 Jul 2006, 2:39 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

