//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Choose Your Own Adventure Returns

Wired: Choose Your Own Adventure Returns

After a generation out of print, the original Choose Your Own Adventure series is back. First published in 1979, the books let readers remix their own stories – and face the consequences.

The article is written in Choose-Your-Own style, too! I loved these books as a child. They were so much fun and actually were probably the only books that inspired me to try writing. I remember trying to write one when I was in grade 8, but I gave up because it was so difficult and wrote something else instead. I also remember my brother wrote one 2 years earlier when he was in grade 8 (we had the same teacher, and so the same assignment). I found his story again a few years ago and kept it, though I think it’s lost now.

Anyway, I think it’s great that kids will now get the chance to experience Choose Your Own Adventures just like we did!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Choose Your Own Adventure Returns

  1. Woo hooooo! I was just complaining about those being out of print to my husband the other day, who couldn’t believe they’d gone out of print because he loved ’em, too. My little patrons will be so happy!!

    Posted by Tiny Little Librarian | 10 Jun 2006, 8:18 AM
  2. I got a signed copy from R.A. Montgomery at Book Expo!

    Posted by Jason | 13 Jun 2006, 2:04 AM
  3. Aw shucks! I could’ve gone to Expo for a disocunted price but didn’t because I didn’t realize it wa so much easier to get books than say, the OLA conference!

    Posted by Jen | 13 Jun 2006, 9:03 PM
  4. They’re also bringing the series to DVD. Get more info at Amazon. The first DVD is available July 25th:

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FZETY8/qid=1152119409/sr=11-1/ref=sr_11_1/102-4941383-7672105?n=130

    Posted by chone | 5 Jul 2006, 7:12 PM
  5. Cool! They should do a cross-over with RPG’s like Final Fantasy!

    Posted by Stinky | 10 Jul 2006, 2:33 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

