//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Must see: Blues fest!

Kitchener’s Blues, Brews and BBQs festival is going on this weekend, Aug 11-13. They have a great line up of musicians and it’s free! I went last year and had a great time. For those who don’t know, that’s when I became obsessed with dancing (swing that is, Lindy Hop specifically).

It seems that a few coworkers may go Friday after work. Another coworker, that I don’t know but I have seen her a couple times (she’s in another department) put a poster up in the lunchroom; she’s volunteering during the weekend.

You know how librarians are all about lifelong learning? Well, it’s stuff like this that really gets my “learning” juices going. I consider seeing live music a great learning experience. I’ve never really listened to blues or jazz before, but now I do, and I love it. It’s unfortunate that I can’t go Saturday (going to the Fergus highland games!), but I’m glad I’ll get to see Mel Brown on Sunday! I saw him twice last month, but I can never get enough!

So, those of you in the area, certainly check it out and “learn” something new!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

