//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Word on the Street – take 2

Yesterday I spent all day in the rain in Victoria Park at Word on the Street. It was my first time going to this event and it was enjoyable. I saw a handful of authors and browsed through all the booths.

I saw Susan Fish, read from seeker of stars; Emma Cole (AKA Susanna Kearsley) shared a piece from Every Secret Thing, which she said wasn’t out yet here in Canada, but she gave a local bookstore a few copies, so I bought one; Marsha Skrypuch who wrote Aram’s Choice spoke a bit about the background of that book; and Kelley Armstrong read both from Stolen (second in her Otherworld series) as well as from her manuscript for her next book, No Humans Involved. Oh, and I can’t forget Sharron Smith, Reader’s advisory librarian at KPL and author of Canadian Fiction (a must-have for every library), and a fellow planner for OLA Super Conference, who ran the authors’ tent.

Guy Gavriel Kay cancelled, so I didn’t get to see him, and I forgot to watch the panel on blogging like I wanted to. If I had, maybe I would’ve run into Jason! (Silly to think we were wandering around all day and didn’t run into each other!)

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Word on the Street – take 2

  1. Hi Jen,
    The blogging panel was interesting, although Aimee had not nice things to say about livejournal bloggers. Being one myself, I didn’t quite agree with her.

    Posted by Marsha Skrypuch | 26 Sep 2006, 2:45 AM
  2. Hi Marsha,

    I have an LJ too and I find it very useful for its communities. I really enjoyed your talk too – I know so little about the Armenian genocide but I remember in grade 8 two classmates would always argue since one had Turkish heritage and another was of Armenian heritage.

    Posted by Jen | 26 Sep 2006, 2:56 PM
  3. Hi Jen,
    Too bad those two classmates argued. There would have been no survivors of the Armenian genocide had it not been for the brave Turks, Kurds and Arabs who saved individual Armenians, risking their own lives to do so.

    Posted by Marsha Skrypuch | 7 Oct 2006, 7:40 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

