//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Overdue notice

Why does it take for my book to be 10 days overdue before a notice is sent by email?

Ok, I knew it was overdue and that it was going to be overdue, and I still probably won’t return it till Tuesday or Wednesday since I’m out of town this weekend, but what if the patron had truly forgotten? I guess it’s only 25 cents a day for a book, but DVDs are $2/day. Really now, 10 days is too long for a first notice!

This (WPL) isn’t a huge library system. How difficult is it to just have some application automatically send emails a day or two after the due date? (I can understand a day after may be too soon)

[edited to clarify I meant emailed overdue notices]

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Overdue notice

  1. 1. Like you said, one or two days after it’s overdue is too soon. Likely the patron just hasn’t had a chance to drop it off, and will do so in that time. Then you’ve wasted a stamp and paper and an envelope to send them a notice which they’ll get AFTER they’ve returned the book anyway.

    2. Your email isn’t automatically the default means of contacting you in the system – you have to tell the librarian that’s how you want to be contacted.

    Posted by Rebecca | 6 Oct 2006, 3:32 PM
  2. My post is in reference only to those of us who do choose email as our contact preference. I know mailing notices and/or making phone calls are a lot more time consuming. I’m just saying – they have my email, why are they waiting 10 days to use it!!!

    Posted by Jen | 6 Oct 2006, 6:40 PM
  3. Ah – thanks for the clarification 🙂

    Posted by Rebecca | 6 Oct 2006, 7:17 PM
  4. How do you set up getting email notices? Is it the same for Kitchener?

    Posted by Stinky | 6 Oct 2006, 7:28 PM
  5. Hey, Stinky – Yes it is the same for Kitchener. Kitchener also sends out an E-Newsletter that I find really handy since it points out programs that I might’ve forgotten about.

    Personally, I did it when I first got my library cards for WPL and KPL – there was a spot on the application form. I’m sure you just have to go to the accounts/customer service/whatever it’s called desk to change your info.

    I’m not sure if you can do it online when you view your record or not.

    Posted by Jen | 10 Oct 2006, 2:14 PM
  6. Hey, Stinky – Yes it is the same for Kitchener. Kitchener also sends out an E-Newsletter that I find really handy since it points out programs that I might’ve forgotten about.

    Personally, I did it when I first got my library cards for WPL and KPL – there was a spot on the application form. I’m sure you just have to go to the accounts/customer service/whatever it’s called desk to change your info.

    I’m not sure if you can do it online when you view your record or not.

    Posted by Jen | 10 Oct 2006, 2:14 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

