//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I’ll never learn reader’s advisory!

The fates are against me. My work has twice approved me for programs covering reader’s advisory through the Education Institute, but darn it, when I go to register they’re sold out!

First it was a 6 week online course on Reader’s Advisory (they don’t seem to keep up the info on past course, so I can’t link to who/what it was). Actually, that one I may have just tried to register too late. (hey, I had to wait for the paperwork!) Then today, I wanted to register for RA in a Day: A Readers’ Advisory Symposium. Again, I had to wait for the paperwork (our HR person was away).

So, it looks like I’ll never learn anything about Reader’s Advisory so I should just give up ever trying. Okay, fine, I’ll keep looking. Maybe there’ll be a session or two at the OLA Super Conference in January/February.

Of course, I realize one of the better ways to learn reader’s advisory is to do it, but do I need to remind you I don’t work in a library? One day, one day I’ll find a way in….

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “I’ll never learn reader’s advisory!

  1. Maybe speak to the HR person and see what can be done so it doesn’t happein the future?

    Posted by Stinky | 18 Oct 2006, 3:34 PM
  2. Sharron Smith from KPL is speaking at Waterloo Public Library tonight at 7 on her book Canadian Fiction: A Guide to Reading Interests. It is a great RA tool.

    Posted by Christine | 18 Oct 2006, 9:02 PM
  3. I’ll be attending the RA in a Day next week – If there is anything facinating I will try to post for you.

    Posted by Small Town Librarian | 19 Oct 2006, 3:54 PM
  4. You should call OLA to see if they can squeeze you in – you never know there may be space if you beg…

    Posted by Anonymous | 25 Oct 2006, 7:47 PM
  5. Heh, I was just promoted to Literacy and Readers’ Advisory Librarian at work and applied to go to “RA in a Day” as well. Until my workplace told me they didn’t have the cash to send me. :-p

    Posted by False Prophet | 23 Nov 2006, 3:57 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

