//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

OLA Super Conference 2007

The Ontario Library Association’s Super Conference is 3 months away! Super Conference is again at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, January 31- February 3rd, 2007.

The SC program[PDF] is now available online and I hear the print program has already hit the post office, so keep an eye out for it! The website isn’t quite up and running, but online registration is open!

I’m really excited again about this year’s conference! The opening plenary speaker is Cory Doctorow!!! That’s so awesome. And, to top it off, the closing plenary speaker is Seán Cullen. At Super Conference 2006, I ran into him and asked him why he was there, and he mentioned he was promoting his book. It’ll be great ending the conference on a light note. I really hope the schedule doesn’t change!

Another cool thing, is that one of the plenaries is set up like a game show, and the audience will have to txt in advice to the contestants. Haha! That’ll be fun! (I admit, I am behind the times with txting – I watch some younger acquaintances, and another friend with a blackberry, text all the time, and I just am not that proficient)

Wow, I’m still browsing through the program and there are so many interesting sessions and speakers! It looks like Leslie Burger, ALA president, will be speaking. Dominique
Demers
will also be there; I’m really hoping to be able to see her speak. And speaking of her, I’d like to point out that there are several French sessions this conference. L’Association des bibliothécaires francophones de l’Ontario (ABFO) is celebrating ten years, and there are at least 8 sessions that are French or bilingual, including a plenary with Lise Bissonnette and Ian Wilson.

Oh and this is funny! A reception for UWO LIS grads!! Just this week a few former classmates and I have been emailing back and forth starting to plan a “reunion” since FIS always does one, but UWO hasn’t. It looks like someone else finally clued in and set one up! Great, that means less work for me!

LIS RECEPTION at ARMADILLO’S TEXAS GRILL (Thursday, Feb 1st, 6pm)
The Graduate Programs in Library and Information Science at the University of Western Ontario are pleased to invite LIS alumni to a social gathering at Armadillo’s Texas Grill, 146 Front Street West. Come along and meet old friends and reacquaint yourselves with colleagues and LIS faculty and staff! RSVP by Friday, January 26, 2007 by e-mail at alumnirsvp@uwo.ca or call 1-866-447-1044. Please state your name, phone number, e-mail and that you will be attending the LIS alumni reception. See y’all there.

I’m so psyched up for this! It’s just too bad that I won’t be able to make nearly as many sessions as I’d like since I’ll be busy volunteering!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “OLA Super Conference 2007

  1. I’ve always wanted to come to OLA. I should try this year. Cory Doctorow, eh? I read a cool post on his blog about all these US soldiers who’ve found his work online, and how they used to sit around chewing the fat but now they’re all reading his stuff.

    Posted by Monique | 4 Nov 2006, 11:48 PM
  2. Oh yes! You should certainly come! Attendance is usually around 4500 delegates, and there are over 250 sessions, plus great plenaries and fun receptions! Always people to meet and things to learn.

    Posted by Jen | 5 Nov 2006, 2:03 AM
  3. Did you know they are working on a phone that has voice recognition for texting?

    Posted by UninvitedWriter | 6 Nov 2006, 8:08 PM
  4. isn’t that missing the point of texting?

    I mean, it’s a phone, if you need to talk, just call :p

    Posted by Jen | 7 Nov 2006, 5:39 PM
  5. I’ve been to CLA twice but never OLA. I think I should go this year, since a colleague’s presenting. Plus I’m a big fan of Cory Doctorow. I highly recommend his talk on DRM at Microsoft. He also posts regularly to the group blog BoingBoing.

    Maybe I can convince some friends at work to come out to this UWO Alumni thing.

    Posted by False Prophet | 23 Nov 2006, 4:02 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

