//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I can’t keep a secret

Really I can’t keep a secret; well not unless it’s one of those ‘skeleton-in-the-closet’ type secret that I’m holding for a friend. Indeed, if I have a secret of my own, I can’t keep it; I’m all about telling everyone everything about me.

So, it’s no real secret that I’ve been on the job hunt. I’ve put out dozens (ok maybe just over a dozen) résumés since the beginning of summer. I’ve received very little interest from those I’ve applied to. In total I’ve had three interviews and, thanks to a friend pointing out what I already knew, it’s quite obvious my interview skills are lacking. (All interviews are pretty much the same; you’d think I’d be a star at them, but nope.)

Nevertheless, I’ve finally received a job offer! Yay! And I’m taking it! Yay! It’s actually a library technician job, but I’ve never been one to support that whole librarian/library technician debate (ok, actually I can see the different sides of it, it’s just hard for me to pick a single stance). My new position is also only a contract job; so I may end up back here cataloguing again next year.

Oh, and where is my new job? Well, that I won’t say just yet because I wouldn’t want to jinx anything. But, I do believe that a few of my readers are from the library I will be working at. I’m very excited about working in a library! Yay! A real library! So coming with the New Year, comes a new job! And I’ll get to do reference! Woohoo!

My supervisor is disappointed, but she managed to talk me into working a few part-time hours here anyway. We’ll see how it goes; not sure I can handle two jobs. She’s just hired four new cataloguers, two of whom are recent UWO grads. How do I know? I searched google for them! Yes, I’m one of those types of people. So anyway, one of them is actually a current FIMS student (I found his class blog), and another did her co-op back last year. It’s too bad I won’t be around as much so I may not get to know the new cataloguers. I’m sure they’ll hear plenty of stories about me though.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “I can’t keep a secret

  1. Conratz! Yay for stamping books and giving mean looks! ;p

    Posted by Stinky | 7 Dec 2006, 9:44 PM
  2. Great news Jen! I take it you will be staying in the KW area?

    Chris

    Posted by Anonymous | 8 Dec 2006, 2:49 AM
  3. Yeah, I’ll still be local 🙂 That was one reason I took it; I’m not ready yet to move again!

    Posted by Jen | 8 Dec 2006, 6:34 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

