//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Trucking along

A lot of what I learned is coming back to me, some of it slower than others. For instance, last night I was helping a nursing student use Ovid. I haven’t used Ovid since I was in grad school about 2 years ago. I don’t think Ovid was covered in most courses, so I’m thankful I took the class on Sources and Services for Science and Technology. Still, I had such a hard time remembering how to do a search!
Finally I showed the student how to search the subject headings separately and then combine the searches to get what she was looking for. The woman really was thankful I could help her at all. She had to call me backa couple times since she would ‘get lost’ after printing out one article and couldn’t get back to her results. I’ve caught myself a few times telling the students that I’m new here and still learning too!
Oh, there was another interesting thing at the ref desk last night. A young woman came up and she looked familiar – I thought I knew who she was which was confirmed when she asked if I was Jen and belonged to my sorority back home. She was a member when I was already alum and was only active for a year because she transferred. It’s great the way people make connections, even when they don’t seem important at the time.
This week I did four “Information Literacy” sessions, though really it was just basic library instruction (how to do basic searches in the catalogue and databases). Next week I have 7 to do! Again, some are just basic, but then there’s others that are more in depth.

Ok, no more time to write, must go work the desk.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Trucking along

  1. Ha ha ha… I thought you were talking about Ovid’s Metamorphoses, as in the ancient Greek, not a reference aid! Boy was I confused when you started talking about Sources and Services class.

    Posted by Devon | 19 Jan 2007, 9:13 PM
  2. Yeah, I was a Classics major, but I don’t read much of the ancient stuff anymore. Ovid “is an internationally recognized leader of electronic medical, scientific, and academic research information solutions.”

    The nursing students here use it a lot.

    Posted by Jen | 20 Jan 2007, 6:42 PM

Leave a Reply

Uncategorized

Trucking along

A lot of what I learned is coming back to me, some of it slower than others. For instance, last night I was helping a nursing student use Ovid. I haven’t used Ovid since I was in grad school about 2 years ago. I don’t think Ovid was covered in most courses, so I’m thankful I took the class on Sources and Services for Science and Technology. Still, I had such a hard time remembering how to do a search!
Finally I showed the student how to search the subject headings separately and then combine the searches to get what she was looking for. The woman really was thankful I could help her at all. She had to call me backa couple times since she would ‘get lost’ after printing out one article and couldn’t get back to her results. I’ve caught myself a few times telling the students that I’m new here and still learning too!
Oh, there was another interesting thing at the ref desk last night. A young woman came up and she looked familiar – I thought I knew who she was which was confirmed when she asked if I was Jen and belonged to my sorority back home. She was a member when I was already alum and was only active for a year because she transferred. It’s great the way people make connections, even when they don’t seem important at the time.
This week I did four “Information Literacy” sessions, though really it was just basic library instruction (how to do basic searches in the catalogue and databases). Next week I have 7 to do! Again, some are just basic, but then there’s others that are more in depth.

Ok, no more time to write, must go work the desk.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

