//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I’ve got a life

For many things I jump right on the bandwagon (eg. LibraryThing), others I wait and wait til I can’t hold out any longer (eg. MySpace, Facebook). Second Life is one of those things that I’m hesitant about joining.

I have to say I agree with the Librarian’s Guide to Etiquette. Ok, well maybe not exactly. I’m just not convinced it’s worthwhile. Supposedly there are over 3 million accounts, right? But how many of those are regular users? And of those who are regular users, how many are from my ‘real’ geographic location and therefore people I want to reach? What type of people are drawn to Second Life anyway? I haven’t checked it out for myself yet. At least with a social space like Facebook I can limit to one of my specific networks (so where I work, or where I went to school), which as a librarian I feel are more useful. I just have a lot of friends and acquaintances who are ‘techies’ and geeks and gamers, but I don’t think any of them have ever mentioned Second Life.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

