//
you're reading...
libraries, websites

Learning on the Go

At this new job of mine, I have essentially three responsibilities: information literacy liaison for business, journalism and other program faculty; reference desk duties; and updating and maintaining the library website.

The first three weeks I was really busy with IL but that has totally gone dead (since I’m not yet doing outreach to faculty), so most of my focus has been on the website and my ref desk shifts. The current template, though newly created, uses tables for layout. Does that make you shudder? We’ve decided to go ahead and keep using it and my long term project will be to create something that’s better for accessibility. So, I have to teach myself CSS. I have a friend who’s pretty knowledgeable in the stuff, so he’s thrown me some links, and I found lots of useful info. The one I’m loving write now because it’s clear and gives great examples: http://www.brainjar.com. I’m fortunate in that at least I have the college’s style sheets to model after. So, anyone know of any website tips for librarians?

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Learning on the Go

  1. Tables? Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh!

    At least it wasn’t frames! *shudder*

    Here are a collection of CSS links I gathered when I was learned how to use it:

    http://del.icio.us/rlarocque/CSS

    Posted by Rebecca | 23 Feb 2007, 4:08 AM
  2. Thanks!

    The current site uses frames. At least we’re moving in the right direction…eventually we’ll get it right.

    Posted by jennifer | 23 Feb 2007, 2:44 PM
  3. Something to keep in mind when making a library website is the language that you use. Make sure that it is actually meaningful to your audience. Here’s a site with terms that library users understand:

    http://www.jkup.net/terms.html

    Good luck and have fun.

    Posted by Becca | 24 Feb 2007, 9:15 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

