//
you're reading...
books, reviews

Review: Every Secret Thing by Emma Cole

Last week I read Every Secret Thing by Emma Cole.

I saw Emma Cole (AKA Susanna Kearsley) back in September at Word on the Street where she did a reading from this book. I bought it and had it signed. Back in November I picked it up and read the first 40 pages and although it was interesting and I wanted to know what happened, I just couldn’t get into it (I think I was too taken by the Laurell K. Hamilton series I was reading). Anyway, on the way home from OLA my friend was reading it so we talked about it a bit and I decided I needed to pick it back up.

This time I hated to put it down. Almost made me glad that it takes me an hour (minimum) to get to/from work each day. I normally do not read mysteries/thrillers/suspense of any sort. When I chose for myself it’s usually fantasy or something “classic” that I just haven’t read yet. I enjoy when an author puts enough reality into a book – for instance mentioning real historical events or people, but that there’s certainly enough fiction to make it fun.

I think this book was fairly typical in that the main character was being followed/chased for information she was thought to have but didn’t and so had to run around the world tracking down people and finding out the truth. I guess the reason I liked it was because it left me wanting to know more about real events, for instance Camp X which I had never heard of before. It was a smooth read and certainly had enough suspense to keep the pages turning!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

books, reviews

Review: Every Secret Thing by Emma Cole

Last week I read Every Secret Thing by Emma Cole.

I saw Emma Cole (AKA Susanna Kearsley) back in September at Word on the Street where she did a reading from this book. I bought it and had it signed. Back in November I picked it up and read the first 40 pages and although it was interesting and I wanted to know what happened, I just couldn’t get into it (I think I was too taken by the Laurell K. Hamilton series I was reading). Anyway, on the way home from OLA my friend was reading it so we talked about it a bit and I decided I needed to pick it back up.

This time I hated to put it down. Almost made me glad that it takes me an hour (minimum) to get to/from work each day. I normally do not read mysteries/thrillers/suspense of any sort. When I chose for myself it’s usually fantasy or something “classic” that I just haven’t read yet. I enjoy when an author puts enough reality into a book – for instance mentioning real historical events or people, but that there’s certainly enough fiction to make it fun.

I think this book was fairly typical in that the main character was being followed/chased for information she was thought to have but didn’t and so had to run around the world tracking down people and finding out the truth. I guess the reason I liked it was because it left me wanting to know more about real events, for instance Camp X which I had never heard of before. It was a smooth read and certainly had enough suspense to keep the pages turning!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

