//
you're reading...
reference, websites

reference, websites and pineapples

Last week I had on of those days on reference. You know the kind I’m talking about. The type of day when you can’t give or find a satisfactory answer for anything. It was not good. I think I was on the desk for 4 hours that day and I just couldn’t seem to help anyone. It was so frustrating! And it’s not like the questions were difficult. Today wasn’t much better, though I think I managed to help the students that came to me, except one. Don’t you hate it when a student expects something from you and it’s just not possible? Like today a student was trying to log on and for whatever reason username/password didn’t work which meant she had to go to the computer help desk on the other end of campus. She didn’t understand why I couldn’t just give her her password. I did log her in as a guest so that she could do her work in the meantime…

Also last week, I put up the new website. It seems many of my coworkers hadn’t understood that it was going up a week after they were sent the URL to look at and test the pages, and so they hadn’t looked at it thoroughly thus everyday I’m getting emails from them about changes that have to be made or stuff that’s missing (some pages were buried so deep on the last site, I missed them). Oh well, gives me something to do and I like it, even if I complain about it.

Oh pineapples? Yeah, I was just thinking, that it isn’t just advertising that gives us ‘subliminal’ messages. Today in the grocery store I really wanted to buy a pineapple. I don’t like pineapple. I don’t even like the flavour (unlike say, mushrooms that I abhor, but think the scent and flavour is good). So why did I want a pineapple? Probably because my brother was in Hawaii last week and posted his pics which included a tour and visit of Dole pineapple plantation. Baby pineapple trees are cute! It was either that, or flashback from grade six French class (Ananas!).

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “reference, websites and pineapples

  1. Holy moly! Telefrancais! I vividly remember that show!

    Posted by Rebecca | 28 Mar 2007, 4:17 AM
  2. You should see the size of the Téléfrançais group in Facebook – over 15,000!

    Posted by Jen | 28 Mar 2007, 4:41 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

