//
you're reading...
books, libraries

weeds – they’re pretty big

Now that the website is done (well for a bit, I have to re-do it eventually), I have to find other stuff to work on. So, I’m following after my favourite co-worker (*wink* you know who you are), and starting to look at my collections. I have collections!! Yay! Something to call my very own. Oh sorry, it’s just cool to be working in a library.
Okay, so here’s the deal: I’m sorta clueless about my subject areas (business, marketing, advertising, public relations, human resources, law and security, computer programming, journalism, broadcasting, and a few others).
From my coworkers and all the librarians out there on the web, I’m getting a sense of what I should be doing and how, but I still can’t find a good place for “core lists”. I’m not happy to just check whether the other colleges also have the book because that could mean A) they all have it so I should have it too! or B) They all have it so I can ILL on the off-chance a student will want it. Before I keep rambling, I’m just gonna leave it at that and see what y’all think. What tools and resources do you use most? Right now my focus is on deselection aka weeding since I’ve come across books from the 70s and 80s, like this accounting one, and I’m not sure if there’s something special about them or if they’re just there.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

One thought on “weeds – they’re pretty big

  1. Our library doesn’t really collect those areas, although we are (obviously) big on accounting. I can’t think of any subject lists, but I suppose you could check Amicus, and see under locations what libraries carry them – it will tell you how popular they are, and how likely you are to get an ILL. What about course lists for other colleges – what are the Instructors using?

    Posted by Devon | 28 Mar 2007, 6:11 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

