//
you're reading...
books, libraries

Check. Check. Check!

We’re doing inventory. It’s the first time I’ve ever been a part of a library doing inventory. It is not like it’s done in retail. Everything is as normal – i.e. general collection still circulates and shelving is still being done, and no one is keeping books from moving anywhere.

They’re doing inventory different this year than in the past in that we are working from reports (i.e. lists) and checking off the items as we find them on the shelf. Don’t worry – we got it covered for if an item not on the list pops up. I’ve been assigned 3 bays. So that’s 90 shelves. I managed to get through 12 shelves today. That’s about 7.5 pages of 65 pages of my list. I haven’t worn a watch lately so I’m not quite sure how long it took me to go through those 12 shelves. I would approximate 4 hours or so…I’m thinking it’s gonna take me two work weeks to get through it all. And then I have to recheck for missing items every once in awhile. So far I only actually have 2 or 3 that could be missing; I have to look if they’re checked out.

The tediousness brings me back to my cataloguing days…ah nostalgia.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Check. Check. Check!

  1. What’s wrong with cataloging?

    Posted by Argie & Elsie | 26 Apr 2007, 12:08 PM
  2. Well Argie (& Elsie) you know we could have a long long convo about that next time I see ya :p

    Tell Dora I said hi!

    Posted by Jen | 26 Apr 2007, 6:51 PM
  3. Well Argie (& Elsie) you know we could have a long long convo about that next time I see ya :p

    Tell Dora I said hi!

    Posted by Jen | 26 Apr 2007, 6:51 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

