//
you're reading...
work

Random Work Rants

Having Faculty on your side

It’s great when faculty learn about library services and take advantage of having me help them with research for their students. It’s not so great when they share this with their co-workers so that I have to go into every single section of a class within two weeks of school starting, but I am only given 15 minutes each class to show first years how to search databases as well as look for reference materials. (edited to add: there are about 11 sections of that class. Not to mention the 4 other classes I have to go into this week)

Return to classes

It’s great having the students back here. They really add a good vibe to things; without them we wouldn’t be here, right? It’s not so great that I now have to buy the cheap coffee downstairs and can’t get my half-coffee/half-hot chocolate from Tim Horton’s anymore because the lines are astronomical.

New website

It’s great that I got the new library website finished and up before school started. It looks pretty good, despite my lack of knowledge in that area and is certainly a step (or three) up from what they had last year. It’s not so great that the college IT folks have recently decided every department must conform to the new college template (which I think is icky) and they decide to tell me a week after I finished mine.

Overall the good outweighs the bad, but you know me: always whining!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Delicious Bookmarks

