//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

CLA site gets a facelift

I heard via Jason Hammond‘s blog that the Canadian Library Association‘s website has been redesigned.

I think the new look is a lot snazzier! I happen to have a preference for blue and white layouts :-p From my first glance, the only thing I didn’t like was the news scrolling – it’s going faster than I’d like (or maybe it’s just because I’m feeling a little nauseous today; stomach flu is going around here). I know it stops if you hover over a news item and I guess most people aren’t going to be staring at the main page for too long, so I guess it’s not really a big deal. (Although my colleague at the ref desk mentioned it too…)

The main nav bar is clear and the submenus contain a good amount of links (most are 2-4 items, with the largest having 12). I primarily go to the CLA site to view job ads. I like the new layout of that and how I can click on a map to narrow my search to jobs in a certain geographic area. I also like that under the ‘Resources’ menu they have a page for blogs and wikis of the CLA which is great since I didn’t know about most of these.

I must admit though that I haven’t been a member of CLA since my student membership ran out (which actually was well after I graduated from FIMS). I’ve participated mainly with the Ontario Library Association because I felt that the OLA fit my needs, though lately I have reconsidered joining CLA again as well.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

