//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

In case you were wondering…

About a month ago I mentioned that I was going to have three interviews within a week for various library positions. I’m not going to go into details right now, but I know some of you are probably wondering what ever happened. Did I get any offers? Did I decide to just stay where I am?

Yes, I was offered a position. Actually I got more than one offer. Unfortunately the ‘dream job’ I mentioned hasn’t gotten back to me and though I’ve inquired, they are unable to tell me anything (I do know they checked some of my references). Looking at was currently before me, I decided to accept one of the offers, and resigned from my current position at the college.

I’m really nervous abut my decision as it will be unchartered territory for me – a public library system! Yet, the position sounds really cool, and I know I’m gonna have a lot of fun with it. Once everything is settled I’ll tell you more about this whole process and what exactly it is I’ll be doing. I still see myself more as an academic librarian and would love to work in a college or university again, but I think having some experience in a public library could be good for me – make me “well-rounded” (as their HR person put it).

So that’s what’s been going on. Another new year, another new job… (Is it wrong to change jobs every 1-2 years? Really, I can be quite loyal – I just like adventure too!)

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

One thought on “In case you were wondering…

  1. Public libraries are pretty cool. I did the academic library thing for 7 years and just recently got into the public library realm. I love it. Pretty much the coolest job ever.

    Posted by Eva G. | 25 Dec 2007, 4:42 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

