//
you're reading...
canadian, challenges, reviews

Review: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam

Review: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam

I read this a couple weeks ago when I was in Montreal apartment hunting. Whenever my feet got cold, I’d jump into a cafe to sit and read and warm up. So, it didn’t take long for me to finish it.

I liked it; I really liked it.

I didn’t expect to like it since I don’t normally read any kind of “medical” fiction. I think the way that it is presented to the reader was a big factor in keeping my attention. The book is really a set of short stories sharing characters; that style kept me from losing interest and motivated me to keep reading to see if I would learn more about certain characters in future stories. The author wrote from a variety of perspectives as well, not just the doctors involved, but also nurses, patients and family members. There were a couple stories that made me squirm in my seat, and one or two that were predictable, but from start to finish it was a pretty good book.

So, I wonder when does it come out as a TV drama?

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Review: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam

  1. Sounds pretty graphic. You’re right though, it sounds like a CBC project.

    Posted by John Mutford | 29 Jan 2008, 12:57 AM
  2. I know I saw on tv that someone bought the rights and they are adapting it. I think it’s The Movie Network though this time and not CBC. Too bad since I will not get cable when I move.

    Posted by jennifer | 29 Jan 2008, 6:49 AM
  3. Hi Jen, you know Vincent Lam is speaking at OLA this week, right?

    Posted by John Miedema | 29 Jan 2008, 1:40 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

