//
you're reading...
books, canadian, challenges, children, reading, reviews

Review: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Yeah, I know: how can a red head not have read Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery before now? Well that’s actually the reason – in the movie, Anne was such a stereotypical red head: feisty, quick temper, mischievous. Of course, not being like that myself (well, ok maybe a little mischief was around me), I hated her portrayal and just wasn’t interested in reading the books. Mind you I enjoyed the movie and thought Megan Follows was awesome, just the character rubbed me the wrong way.

The verdict? Good! I was concerned that I’d find the details and descriptions dull, but in fact I loved them. Being already familiar with the story, I knew most of what was going on, so having the added description made it worthwhile to read – something new for me to digest. I was surprised that we seemed to go through five years of Anne’s life so quickly. The first year or two were slow but it felt like everything just sped up.

The only thing I didn’t like were the typos! This printing had soooo many of them! Seriously, I saw ‘Marilla’ as ‘Mania’ twice and ‘Manila’ once; and so many times ‘over’ was ‘oven’ and ‘right’ was ‘night’ among others. Really gets annoying when you’re reading and your brain falters because something doesn’t seem to fit.

Ok, so based on my ‘rating system’ – I do hope to read more by Montgomery. I mean since I’ve started I might as well finish the Anne ‘series’. And well, I’ve already seen the movie so it’s kind of hard to use that as a way to gauge my like/dislike of this book. I do have a very strong urge to find the movie and rent it – or maybe buy it. Actually, I have a strong urge to visit PEI. (One day, I’ve only been as far east as New Brunswick, and the Gaspésie).

And this would be book 7 I believe for the Canadian Book Challenge.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Review: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

  1. Yeah, sloppy editting would be annoying.

    I only read this one of the series, and it was to a Grade 3 class. Unfortunately they weren’t into it (shouldn’t have had it follow Bunnicula, I guess). I still enjoyed it, but this one time, my enthusiasm didn’t rub off.

    Posted by John Mutford | 18 Apr 2008, 2:12 AM
  2. read The Blue Castle, not as well known but interesting nonetheless (if only for the alleged similarity between it and a Coleen McCullough bestseller: Ladies of Missalongi)

    Posted by Anonymous | 22 Apr 2008, 12:34 PM
  3. I didn’t read Anne until I was forced to in University. And I also loved it. I have all 7, and I especially love the last one. I’ve been planning on re-reading them in honour of Anne’s anniversary.

    I haven’t been able to pick up any of her others. I had Emily of New Moon when I was a kid, and I hated it. I’d be happy to take your suggestions if there are any you particularly enjoy.

    Posted by Devon | 23 Apr 2008, 11:59 PM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

