//
you're reading...
books, canadian, challenges, children, reading, reviews

Review: Mary Ann Alice by Brian Doyle

Mary Ann Alice by Brian Doyle

This was another random book that I picked from la Grande Bibliothèque a few weeks ago. I did not read this one as quickly as The Greenies. You know what that means – that it just didn’t click with me; I suffered through the first half.

Not that it was poorly written or that the plot was dull. No that wasn’t it. It was because I found the narrator’s character, a girl in grade 7, to be incredibly annoying. I hated having to read all her silly thoughts. I hated the way she expressed herself. Half way through though I started to get used to it, and the ‘action’ started to happen, so I kept going.

The story is about a town along the Gatineau River and the events surrounding the building of the dam that are going to change the way of life there. Despite being an award winning book, it just wasn’t my thing so I’m not really gonna bother writing much about it. It was fine, but I won’t be recommending it to anyone – not that I recommend books to anyone anyway.

This was my 10th book for the Canadian Book Challenge. Just 3 more to go by July 1st! Can I do it?

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

