//
you're reading...
books, canadian, challenges, reviews

Canadian Book Challenge update

July first was the end date of the first Canadian Book Challenge hosted by John over at the Book Mine Set.

Read his final update on the challenge; you might find some reviews you’d like to look at.

You’ll notice that I’m a failure. I didn’t complete it! I was so close reading 11 out of 13 required, much better than the last challenge I tried. My excuse is vacation – I went to the U.S. without any extra books than the last one I finished so had no more Canadian books to read! Ok, fine that was the start of June, but when I got back I never made it to the library either (as evidenced by my overdue fines). So I only made the ‘Snowy Owl’ level, which actually, was my name when I was a Brownie leader.

Here’s my list again if you don’t want to scroll through that final post!
Whale Song by Cheryl Kaye Tardiff
Mary Ann Alice by Brian Doyle
The Greenies by Myra Paperny
Skybreaker by Kenneth Oppel
Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery
The Ruby Kingdom by Patricia Bow
Late Nights On Air by Elizabeth Hay
Eye of the Crow by Shane Peacock
Bloodletting and Other Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam
The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx
No Great Mischief by Alistair MacLeod

Although this challenge has come to an end, the 2nd Canadian Book challenge has started. Same ‘rules’, same number of books. Hopefully with a year to go I won’t have a problem whatsoever completing the challenge this time!

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

One thought on “Canadian Book Challenge update

  1. Considering that the last challenge started late, 11 is quite impressive– you’re not a failure at all! Good luck this time around!

    Posted by John Mutford | 27 Jul 2008, 3:24 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

