//
you're reading...
dancing, librarians

There really are a lot of dancing librarians

I’ve blogged before about swing dancing. Perhaps I’ve mentioned how I knew two other librarians who attended FIMS just after me who are also swing dancers (well one of them started at FIMS my last semester there). Or maybe you heard me tell about the time I danced in Chicago and the lead and I were making small talk and he turned out to be a librarian too!
Back in June when I went to California I was supposed to meet up with two dancing librarians for dinner, unfortunatley our plans got derailed. I still was able to meet one of them (a law librarian from Colorado). That was in San Francisco. In L.A. I met another librarian at the Thursday night swing dance, Lindy Groove.
Well, she tracked me down and now there’s a place for all of us swing and bal and blues and charleston dancing librarians on FaceBook. Yup, there’s the Swing Dancing Librarians group!

Librarians do love to dance! I mean not just swing, but there’s belly-dancing librarians, contra dancing librarians, line dancing librarians, even virtual dancing librarians!

See look, they even dance at conferences!


So, what type of dancing do you do?

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “There really are a lot of dancing librarians

  1. Wow–I was trying out Squidoo and it led me to your site. I didn't know that there were other dancing librarians out there! I'm a cataloger at a public library, and agree that Dewey is much more fun than LC. My partner and I dance about 4 nights a week. Favorite is English Country dance, followed closely by Waltz, but we also do contra, East coast swing, Lindy, Hustle, Israeli, Cajun/Zydeco, a little Salsa & Cha-cha, and anything else we can find time for. Tomorrow we go to a class for some Hambo and Schottische–something else to do during breaks at contra.

    If you're not dancing, you're wasting your feet!

    Randy

    Posted by Randy | 6 Aug 2008, 4:26 PM
  2. So there really is a Swing Dancing Librarians group. That is cool.

    Posted by zydeco fish | 22 Aug 2008, 7:06 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Bibliotecarios... ¡a bailar! | BiblogTecarios - 7 Dec 2011

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

