//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Alone again


Smile Rattie
Originally uploaded by Canucklibrarian

My only companion has left me. Last night I noticed that Gaius was being particularly quiet considering the night before he had been banging to get out of his cage.
I know he hadn’t been drinking enough the last week or so, but I also know he was at least two years old, if not more, and he was diabetic. So I had decided not to fork out hundreds of dollars like last spring and just wanted to see how things went.
He was still himself for the most part, climbing out of his cage, wandering around the place, getting into the kitchen cupboards (he liked the one with the grocery bags; loved to nest).
I guess he had enough though and I found him dead. This picture was from last week. You can tell he was thrilled to be photographed. (Actually he much preferred to walk on my laptop, but I wouldn’t let him.)
I think his last few weeks were good though. We’ve been having a lot of cuddle time lately. I’ll miss my furry friend.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Alone again

  1. That is sad news. He was a cutie.

    Posted by zydeco fish | 22 Oct 2008, 8:15 PM
  2. That is sad news. He was a cutie.

    Posted by zydeco fish | 22 Oct 2008, 8:15 PM
  3. I lost my cat this year. It’s hard, I know.

    Posted by John Mutford | 1 Nov 2008, 1:34 AM
  4. Really sorry to hear of this. I used to have a rat named Bunny. My prof allowed me to “steal” him after my psychology of learning course.

    Posted by Anonymous | 30 Nov 2008, 5:08 AM

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

  • RT @erinbowbooks: Side note: it is of course Eid al Fitr, which is a SWELL time to schedule a public meeting about a Muslim centre. 9 hours ago
  • RT @rwlibrary: Register to spend your summer with us starting tomorrow! We’ve got crafts, games, entertainers, movies & more! https://t.co/… 17 hours ago
  • RT @AprilHathcock: 2 white librns on bus whining abt a lib that hasn't hired a white guy in yrs bc trying 2 incr diversity. "WM ARE a minor… 1 day ago

Delicious Bookmarks

