//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Reading in 2009

I’ve neglected posting reviews for almost all the books I’ve read since January. A few had drafts started, but I never seemed to finish the posts. So here’s just a quick list of books I’ve read (that I remember).

Non-Fiction

Grass Sky Song by Trevor Herriot: Lovely “insider” look at the lives of prairie songbirds. A great storyteller, the author makes the plight of these few birds relevant to us all. Just think Michael Pollan, but for birds. In particular I liked how each chapter also had a biography and sketch of a type of bird.

The Good Food Cookbook for Dogs by Donna Twichell Roberts

Always On: Language in an online and mobile world by Naomi Baron

General Fiction

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Mother Superior by Saleema Nawaz: A young, local Montreal writer that I met, but really her writing is great. It explores family relationships but by writing that it sounds lame, I assure you it’s anything but!

Et si c’était ça, le bonheur? by Francine Ruel
Science Fiction & Fantasy

Calculating God by Robert J. Sawyer: He’s one of my fave authors of all time so I won’t go on and on about how awesome this book is.

The Well of Eternity (Warcraft: War of the Ancients) by Richard A Knaak

Dragonsong by Anne McCaffrey

Dragonsinger by Anne McCaffrey

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (Young Adult): Phenomenal! Action packed that is, but it raises some food for thought too. I mean, how could it not with the whole premise being teenagers thrown together in a massive arena for a televised fight to the death? The sequel comes out next week; I can’t wait!

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong (Young Adult): I like Kelley’s Otherworld series so thought I’d give her YA stuff a shot. Chloe is sent to a home for troubled teens when she’s told she has a mental illness, but of course something isn’t right. It was a fun read, but it felt like the whole thing was just a set-up for the sequel (which I haven’t read yet, but want to).

Vampire Fiction

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

Dark Lover by J. R. Ward

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer (Young Adult)

The Harlequin by Laurell K. Hamilton

I’m pretty sure I’ve read more than these, but like I wrote, this is all I can remember. I only gave mini blurbs for the ones that really stood out.

About Jen

An instructor, a reader, a dog-owner, and advocate; that's how I define myself and these aspects directly impact my interests and conversations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Delicious Bookmarks

